Advice/info on seeking work in Australia??

Hi I'm considering seeking work in Australia in the long term. I have been teaching English in Japan for three years and am curious about teaching English in Australia. I have just a TEFL qualification and experience but no teaching degree.
I heard it was only possible to move to Australia through being selected on the online 'points' system, or is there another way? I'd like to know where to start...any info appreciated:)

Hi rjinjp,

You may want to first start by visiting Australia's Immigration website at immi.gov.au  You can review the different visas that you can apply for if you meet the requirements. Yes, there is a visa that has the points system. However, there are other visas available if you are able to be sponsored by a company or a specific region in Australia who have a shortage of a specific skilled worker. There are different lists that you can find in the website to determine if you may qualify for a certain visa.

Some posters from this Australian forum have been able to be sponsored by the company for the job they applied for. It all depends if you have that special skill that they are looking for that company to sponsor you.  Two online job websites that I know are mycareer.com.au and seek.com.au

If you are under 30 years old, you can try applying for this if you are a citizen from a country that can apply for this. This will allow you to live and work in Australia up to a year. I have heard of some people getting sponsored by the company that they were able to get a job with. If the company is able to sponsor you, it will allow you to get a different visa to enable you to stay longer in the country to work. In some circumstances, depending on what type of visa you were approved for, you can apply for Australian citizenship  if you meet the residency requirements.