Online currency exchanges

Hi Guys

I am new to Oman and need some advice on transferring money back to my UK account.
I want a reliable online currency exchange bureau. I am banking with Oman Arab Bank and currently using them to transfer money into my UK account.

Are their exchange rates comparable or can I get better rates elsewhere?

I have looked online and the ones I have found don't exchange from OMR to GBP

Cheers

Richard

Hi Richard E,

Online bank transferring of money will never get you the best rates. Don't go that route. You can get better rates elsewhere ...

Try the many money transfer outlets spread across all over Oman. Usually, the funds are credited to the overseas account within 24-working-hours.

I've been using Oman-UAE Exchange for quite sometime now. They are very good. There are scores others as well. Exchange rates are quite similar and competitive compared to direct online bank transfers.

Global Money Exchange, I am told, provides the best exchange rates. But I have not personally tried them.

Offline money transfer is any day better than personal online transferring.

Hi Sumitran
Thanks for the response.
I will go and look into this further. Do you know if the rates they offer is significantly better than the banks? Also how do you do it. Can you use a debit card to make the transaction or must it be cash?
Thanks

Hi Richard E,