Work for American Civil Engineer

Hello everyone,

I was wondering if anyone might know whether or not I would be able to find a decent job in Budapest.

Some brief background: I am a licensed engineer my state with about 5 years of work experience. I studied in both the US (BS) and Europe (MSc). I only speak English. My spouse is Hungarian, and we plan on moving to Budapest later this year. As far as I can tell, I will have all of my papers/visas sorted out on my own. Most of my professional and scholarly experience has been dealing with existing/historic structures.

So, does anyone know what sort of civil engineering/construction/restoration job opportunities there might be for a foreigner?

Thanks!

First of all let me say I suggest people seek out opportunities. You may find them despite the circumstances.

But here are the circumstances as I have found them (not being employed in renovation/construction, but having hired a lot to do renovation in Hungary):

- If you want employment in Hungary in construction/renovation I would expect knowing Hungarian to be somewhat important. Otherwise, you can "sell yourself" as the best man for the job for foreign English speaking clients, but I suspect there are not so many of these types of projects for restoration work. So, not knowing Hungarian may be a significant handicap.

- There are many restoration projects in Hungary, but many of those are unfortunately "grant funded". So you may find you need to either be employed by a Hungarian company or "know a guy" to get the contract. This is not a "meritocracy" country, so "knowing a guy" is important.