Scooter/motorbike?

Can you rent a motorbike (scooter) on the island as a cheap way of getting around? What licence needed? Thanks!!

Long term rental of scooter bikes will run you about 600 rupees per day. You just need your license from your country.

Does anyone know how much it would be to buy a scooter?  Is there a Vespa dealer on the island?

Hi I only see posts about renting a scooter to explore the island from the year 2010.

What are the possibilities these days and is it still a nice option to get around as I do not dare to drive and navigate myself while driving on the other side of the road.

@RonanF it depends on the brand AND the engine size. Import duty increases as capacity increases. Yes there is a Vespa dealer. Maison De La Moto.

@oshudofsky I have been riding motorcycles for 5 years and I don't recommend it anywhere for tourists or inexperienced riders. Whether it is Thailand or Mauritius, it will all be fine until it goes really wrong. I ride with full protective gear literally from my head to my toes no matter the country. I see tourists and locals with sandals, shorts, vests and the only protection is a helmet. People are soft and squishy, tar is hard and nasty. Cars are 1 ton of steel driven by someone who does not even see you half the time. When you arrive and we have a coffee together I will show you my scars from slow scooter accidents.

@pbrough as far as I know you need a motorcycle license from your home country. I know some countries let tourists ride scooters with a car license, I don't think this applies in Mauritius.