Seeking Advice for Jobs in Spain

My husband and I are considering moving to Spain after many years living in USA.
We both do not need permits as we are European Union citizens and I also hold and American passport. My Spanish is conversational but needs some improvement and his Spanish is very good. I am a finance professional with masters degree and accounting certification but perhaps I will not be able to find a job in my field prior to improving my Spanish first. Most likely, I will be teaching English or math before I find something in my field. My husband speaks several languages and he probably will be seeking jobs in the tourist industry. Can you give me your advice as to what are the best places in Spain to settle where we both have chances of finding jobs.  I know it is tough job market now but it should not be  impossible to get a job if you are a qualified professional. Many thanks.

With the financial troubles in Europe and mass unemployment I think it is not a good time to be seeking work there.

Even those with high academic qualifications are out of work.

I totally agree, the unemployment is rampant in Spain right now.

However, if you can financially survive, let's say 1 year, without working, it could be worth to try.

Specially considering you would be fluent in Spanish at the end of that year if you practise enough.

Do not go to Catalonia, though, as they also speak Catalan there.

Good luck !

I totally agree with Albertet,sensible advice.Catalonia is very
xenophobic and to work in any official high end job you would need to be proficient in both languages.
Self employed would be less of a problem but its still tough for new people ,like the rest of the world.
Mind you the black economy here is going mental.
Google some English or American schools in Spain they mostly advertise locally for jobs on a regular basis and are always looking for teachers

good luck

Hi,

Well, I would not call catalan people "xenophobic".