Opening up a cellphone repair shop in Spain.

Hi everyone. I am new to this forum. I would like to introduce myself and get any suggestions as I can. I currently live in Armenia and got a schengen visa allowing me to freely travel to Europe in and out. In my home country I am a cellphone repair technician. Business is not bad but I hate the wuality of life over here. So now I am preparing to come to Spain and improve my life.  I have saved up enough money to pay for a year of my accomodation and open up a business. Now the only thing I know is repairing cell phones and would like to know, which city is the best place for that type of a business? Which city will also have lower cost of living? I need the city to be crowded so I will have lot of customers.  Anyways so far these are my questions and Thank you all for your help in advance.

I am not a businessman or lawyer so my comments may not be entirely helpful. First, looking online Armenia is not in the EU, so I believe in order to do business in Spain you would need to be an EU resident and need a Spanish NIE, or residency card number. Not sure how easy that step is. I got mine when I was a student 22 years ago. Next hurdle is the language. If your customers are primarily Spanish speaking, like say in Alicante, where I live, then you would need to speak Spanish fluently or hire someone that speaks English and Spanish to attend the customers, while you do the technical work. It may be possible to set up a shop in an area where there are a lot of foreigners, such as Torrevieja or Altea in this region, without being fluent, but you will need to learn Spanish. Finally, there is the problem of competition. This may be difficult to judge. You might use google to try to estimate the number of shops that fix cellphones, but I know in Alicante there are shops that don't come up on a google search.

Language wise I have no problem as I am fluent in spanish also as I forgot to mention.

Cellfee wrote: