Working Remotely for another company in another country

Hello, I am a software engineer and I plan to move to Spain from another EU country. I might work there locally for a year or so but then I would like to work for a better paying country like Germany or Switzerland remotely since Spanish salaries are meh. How is it done exactly? Do I need to apply for some sort of self employed or freelance status for me to accept an offer from Germany? What kind of taxes do I pay and how do I avoid double taxation. 
Anyone working remotely?
Hi mad engineer, 

I'm looking into this as well, what nationality are you?  

I'm British so now treated as a 3rd world citizen (thanks Brexit!) so it's made things much more complex but not impossible - I have seen people posting about the 5 year non-lucrative visa, but you have to provide proof that you have around 27,000 euros of funds in the 1st year to support yourself.. it's complex but worth looking into.  

Spain are also rumoured to be publishing a new "digital nomad visa" for people who can work and live in Spain for up to 1 year and re-new for up to another 2 years. The exact details haven't been published yet, I think they are due in September but you can google it to find out more.  

Also, look for the "Digital Nomad Embassy" on facebook, they have lots of information about all of the countries that already have the nomad visas, there are other sites too so you can start to build up a network before you travel.  

Good luck!  
I am from Lithuania so I don't have much trouble moving to Spain.
Greetings @MadEngineerLT and welcome to the expat.com forum!

As you are from Lithuania you are an EU citizen, so you can move to any EU country, whether to work, study, or hang out on the beach. This is the EU's "freedom of movement".