Registering Motorbike Under Own Name for Foreigners

I would like to know if it is possible to register a used bike under my own name. How to do it & how much of a hassle it is.

I bought my 1st bike(used) under a vietnamese name. But now there's a problem selling it because the original name on the reggistration card cannot be contacted. I have the ownership papers but it's not under my name.

I am planning to buy a 2nd bike(used) but I don't want to make the same mistake.

I am a temporary resident card holder and also hold a vietnamese motorbike & car license.

Any experienced expats here care to shed some light on how I can buy another used bike & have it registered to my name & what's the procedure like.

Many thanks for your input guys

I've not gone through the process but keep in mind that if you re-register a used bike in your name you will need to pay tax on it again. I'm fairly sure it's at original new price too.

I may well be wrong but I'd check it out first.

If your buying a used bike, it's easier to keep it in the original name, but you should get a letter of transfer to go with it.

I'm sure someone will be along shortly with a clearer view :)

Yes, you can do, if you fulfill the entitlements for a Vietnamese driving Licence (long stay visa/resident). You will get than a NN-number. Some registration centers, like Hanoi, they do since over 3 years, some like NT since about 1/2 year. Others might do or not (like usual).

A 1 year minimum remaining on your residency documentation; VAT determined by government tables not price allegedly paid.

You will need insurance in your name for the vehicle; often a good idea to get a new number in case bad news is attached to vendors plate.

In larger cities there are registry offices for each district. Remember, soon where you live will determine if you pay road user fees.

Occasionally registry offices ask to see your Pink Book.