Jobs in the DR for American Web Developer

Hi everyone! I am new here and was recommended this platform by my mother who is currently living in the Dominican Republic. I want to make plans to move there as soon as possible. I am a freelance website designer and developer and wanted to know: outside of my U.S. clients, is DR a place where web design services are even needed (in your opinion)? Most of the clients I get is through networking in the community and I would use a similar strategy in DR but don't know how needed web design services are.

Welcome to the forums.  So  in order to work here  you would need either a cedula or a work visa.  Do you have either? AND do you speak fluent Spanish? while there are some clients who will need English  my experience in IT  is that you need both languages here.

In addition you are competing with the local market who will likely be priced very differently than your services.

@MissBBBBB  Let's break that question up a bit.

Is there demand in the D.R for software development? Yes, Banks and Resorts ( the ones that pay ) I would not recommend dealing with small businesses due to a lot of things.

You could approach larger to medium size businesses and ask but Dominican works based on connections so be careful how you present yourself and your services; get to know people in your community.

My personal opinion - if you want to work here salaried bank or resort that will pay 100k peso per month ~2,000 USD in the capital region give or take. You need to understand they will be using old stuff and legacy system and management will be very different from what you're use to.