About the Seychelles

Seychelles are 115 islands lying in the Indian Ocean, but only several of these are inhabited. Once a disputed territory between Britain and France, the islands became independent in 1976, and during the past decade have become a popular tourist destination.

Seychelles occupy just 455 square kilometres of land and have about 95,000 people. The islands are inhabited by several ethnic groups such as British, French, Chinese, and Indian, but the majority are Creoles. Three official languages are used in Seychelles: English, French, and Creole.

Victoria is the capital city of Seychelles, and Beau Vallon is a popular beach resort in the region. The region is divided into Outer Seychelles (mostly uninhabited coral islands) and Inner Seychelles (home to most of Seychelles’ resorts).

The economy of the region has grown significantly since its independence — primarily due to the expansion of the tourism sector which employs over 30% of the workforce. Small-scale fishing and farming are also important, as well as foreign investment in the tourism infrastructure: hotels, resorts, restaurants, etc..

Seychelles are the picture-perfect illustration of a tropical paradise — white sandy beaches, glimmering topaz waters, secluded coves, and luxury resorts. The main island activities are swimming, snorkelling, kayaking, watching sea turtles, and exploring bird sanctuaries. Some of the area’s top tourist destinations include the village of Baie Lazare, Morne Seychellois National Park, Cousin Island, Aride Island Nature Reserve, the islands of Curieuse and La Digue, and Bird Island.

All foreign nationals can visit the island visa-free. However, the conditions for entering the region are a valid passport, a return ticket, accommodation booking, and sufficient funds for the length of your stay.