Rent fee includes EWA but not Municipal Fee

Hi all,

I have rented an apartment for 800 BD that includes EWA but not municipal fee. Now I need a CPR, and that requires a registration at the municipality. If I register at the municipality will I be charged the municipal fee? If I tell my landlord to register at the municipality will he be charged? I am relatively new in the country and I am not sure what to do?

Please help

Thank you

Irrespective of who registers the contract, the fee will be charged at the rate of 10% of  rent in your monthly EWA bill (10% of monthly rent every month).  No escaping it - you have to pay it as your contract doesn't cover municipality fee.  The only amount you save by having your landlord do it, is the 5 BD for the municipality letter :).

if your landlord is Bahraini, then he will have a subsidized rate of municipality- that is also if he registers it.

If you need your address on the CPR, you would have to register it under your name.

Thank you for the swift reply XTang.

One further clarification. Does registering the contract at the municipality means that directly the EWA bill will become under my name, although the rent contract says that it is inclusive of the EWA payment?!

isn't it better than to not register the contract !? but then how to I get my cpr !!

I want to solve this but I was not aware of the municipality fee. I see somewhere that there is another fee of 7% and 7.5%

I would very much appreciate the help

thanxxx

No you wouldn't. EWA will be under owners name while municipality will be different. To have an address on you CPR you would need to register it.

Hi danpam14,