Car driving in Montenegro

Hi!

How long can I driving a car in Montenegro without registration? I mean that i planning live in Montenegro but I don't want registration my car there. Can I just driving in my foregin registration?

Thank you for respond.

Igor

I've been driving my car with French registration plates since 2008 and was never asked to change the plates.  I know MANY other expats in the same situation.

Tsarine wrote:

I've been driving my car with French registration plates since 2008 and was never asked to change the plates.  I know MANY other expats in the same situation.

What's about the insurance?As the Green card is only valid for 3 months,do you drive with a local insurance?If so,is a boravak needed to insure the car Thanks Tsarine

Hi Bernard,
Yes, I only have a local insurance with covers for third party damage, and doesn't cover damages on the car (which is so old that it doesn't really matter).
It is indeed not possible to get a green card locally if you keep foreign plates.
I am using this car as a "spare" car anyways, so not too often, the other car (with local plates) being registered in the name of my company.

You might be able to keep a French insurance policy if you cross the EU border every 3 months, but I would still double check with the Insurance Company if that "trick" would work...

Thanks for the tip!

Although I have a temp.residence. I have been driving on U.K. plates here for 14 years.  Montenegrins do not see motorists as a cash box like they do in U.K.  I do pop over to Croatia to shop at Lidle from time to tome and feed at the incredible Chinese next door every three months. I pick up the Montenegrin green card as required (claimed once for minor accident) costs euro 80 for thee months. Much less per day for a year.  Any questions just ask.

Its interesting and good  to  read all the comments on driving in Montenegro.