USA plated car in Ensenada perm resident

Hi all expats. I really need some help here . I need permanent residents who live in Rosarito or Ensenada In Baja California to please help! I am a permanent resident of Mexico I was told to never drive a USA plated car in Mexico it could be confiscated. My Mexican attorney that helped with visa in chapala told me this . Now I am moving to Ensenada and I have several people trying to tell me that the laws of Mexico don't apply to Baja California?? That I can drive my Arizona plated car there. Others who live there say no. Why don't I believe this ? Can someone who knows and lives there help . I tried to call 3 different Mexican consulates in Southern California I cant get anyone to answer the phone . Thanks for any help!

I have read there is no issue driving USA plated cars in Baja.  You will see more CA plates in Baja than MX plates.  We have driven ours 3-4 times a year and plan to move there in 16 months and keep our CA plates. 
Check www.baja123.com and see if they talk about it in their info area.

Hi James are you a permanent resident of Mexico? I know temporary residency it is ok to drive a USA plated car

I am not but plan to become when time gets closer.  Do you have a US address?  That might be the issue.  We plan to keep a home base in either CA or TX once we retire and our condo is completed.  So we will still have a US license and registration address for our cars.

jamesr3939 wrote:

I am not but plan to become when time gets closer.  Do you have a US address?  That might be the issue.  We plan to keep a home base in either CA or TX once we retire and our condo is completed.  So we will still have a US license and registration address for our cars.