New to HCMC, New to ESL Teaching...

Hi, I just got to HCMC a little over a week ago after completing CELTA training. I've been actively applying to jobs but still no luck. I've noticed that most advertised positions ask for experience. It's the age-old conundrum: How can newbies get experience if no one will give you an opportunity? So does anyone have any advice, suggestions or leads on any ESL jobs that hire those without professional experience but with the requisite BA, CELTA and US passport?  Even substitute/fill-in positions will work.
FYI: I'm also heavily melanated (lol..and happily so) and obviously not the stereotypical "American". In addition to that, I'm an older-than-average recent college grad. I don't know if these are notable factors to consider, but I thought I'd include them as full disclosure.

Every other year I hand out about 5 or resumes a day. I scour the internet for addresses each afternoon and hit a different cluster every morning.

Somewhere around 3 or 4 days I start getting interviews. By day 5 or 6 I'm hired.

I get calls and emails to interview for about a year after that. Hence every other year.

June is a good time, May is better since public schools have wound down and language institutes are looking for help in anticipation of increased enrolment.

Private schools may be looking for summer program help which might turn into a full time position in the fall.

International schools will only be interested if your degree is in a hard to find area such as Math or Sciences.

Dress for the job. That means a tie, a jacket if you brought one.

Be prepared to do a demo on a moments notice.

Thanks for your advice. I have been handing out resumes left and right (but I will step it up) and just to let you know, no suit and tie needed--I'm a woman.

Hi devo1067,

How much and how long did it take you to complete the celta training?