Expat office salary

Hi,

In the next year or so I am looking to move to Vietnam (probably HCMC) for work. I am a Risk Manager in a Bank in London with 6 years experience out of university and would not be relocating with my current company. I have a number of respected professional qualifications within my field.

Please could anyone tell me what sort of salary I could expect to get at one of the Big 4 at Manager/Senior Manager level in Vietnam? Also could you please advise me on what the office hours would most likely be?

Thanks for any advise anyone can provide!

Jamaich

Hi Jamaich,

i've looked at a few job postings and what I've found was that some Foreign banks were looking for a director who could set up a branch from the ground up and they were only willing to pay $2200 USD per month.

It wasn't very much compared to overseas pay.

I would assume the pay to be around there as the level of difficulty is about the same or a bit higher since it was at the directorship level.

Regards,

Tim Horton Muffin

Moving directly into even middle management is difficult to do locally in any country.  I experienced similar problems working for multi-nationals in Hawaii that seemed to think of Hawaii as a colony and a good place to send managers on rotation.  Your best bet is a temporary assignment from a foreign employer and then if you like it, trying to keep getting extended.  Of course this will pretty much mean no more serious promotions without moving back to the home country HQ.

Since you are British, I assume that by the "Big 4" you mean Barkley's, HSBC, Lloyd's, and RBS.  As far as I know only HSBC has a presence in Vietnam but your best bet is to inquire in London and hire on from there.