Relocating to Montenegro

Hello. I'm from Argentina and I've been considering moving to Montenegro with my family (two adults and a child). I work as a freelancer online so I can settle anywhere as long as there is Internet. However I have these questions:

a) What would be the best approach to reside legally? I work online so I may be able to get away without a work permit. My monthly income is around 3000 to 4000 USD and I can prove it if needed (contracts, bank statements, ...)

b) My son is 5 years old (probably 6 when we get there) and he must attend school, ideally but not necessarily in English.

c) Do you have any recommendations regarding which area would be best for us? We are looking for a quiet, friendly, safe area with a school nearby. I also need a reliable Internet connection.

d) Do you have any immigration attorney that could help us on this matter?

Any other suggestion or recommendation is very welcome.

Thanks!

Welcome!

a) What would be the best approach to reside legally? I work online so I may be able to get away without a work permit. My monthly income is around 3000 to 4000 USD and I can prove it if needed (contracts, bank statements, ...)

Well if you want to reside legally in Montenegro you will need to apply for Residency, which you can obtain by either having a work permit or by owning some property here. For the 1st option, the most logical thing to do is to set up a company, and hire yourself, which is an option many expats use to solve the residency issue. The cost of this, is c. 200€/month (accounting fees and social contributions). If you buy property, you can obtain residency based on the ownership, so that is the other option.

b) My son is 5 years old (probably 6 when we get there) and he must attend school, ideally but not necessarily in English.