Teaching salary and cost of living in Punta Cana

Hello,
I've been offered a teaching position in Cap Cana with a monthly salary of $2000USD. It includes an apartment where I will pay about $60 in monthly fees plus electric and also includes local health/dental insurance and a few other perks including the usual December bonus.  I am quite familiar with Puerto Plata as I've been volunteering there in the summers for several years and have friends there but I am much less familiar with the East Coast which I understand to be far more expensive.
Would anyone who lives in the area be willing to throw out some numbers about cost of living...groceries, occasional meals out...and if you think this is a reasonable income for this area to be able to save some money for the retirement account along the way.
It sounds like it would be best to have a car in this area as well?
Many thanks.

I live in the area and very familiar with costs.  It will depend upon where your apartment will be.  If it's in Cap Cana or Punta Cana Village...  Happy to help out and willing to meet up when you arrive. 

Generally this is a tourist area but I am sure you will have no trouble with your salary depending upon number of people and your life style.

Cheers,

Mike

Thank you much for your reply, Mike.  Housing is provided free with the job and the apartment is in Cap Cana.  We would be two people relying on the salary, at least to start.

You will likely be fine on this salary. However you will be somewhat isolated in Cap Cana, you will want to discuss transportation with your employer.

And welcome to the forums.

Thank you for your response as well.  It sounds like buying a car would be necessary before too long as public transportation in that part of the DR is poor and grocery stores etc. are far away.

If you are near the resort's you can often make a deal with their transportation people. Many have shuttles etc.

Or, find a taxi in the area and make a deal!!!