Introduction, Friends, and TEFL

I just discovered this website and I don't know why I didn't look for something like this sooner!

My name is Josh, I'm 29 and I'm an expat from the USA.  I've been in Lille since October 2011 and I love it here.  As many people already know, it can be hard to make new friends in a strange country, and I'm trying to build up a social life.  I'm PACsed with my french partner, but I would like a social life of my own as well. I came here as an English assistant, I studied linguistics, and I'm interested in sci-fi books, USA sitcoms, video games, yoga, nature, witty conversation, and meeting new people.  I also really need to work on my French.

Apart from the social aspect, I am also interested in getting some TEFL certification.  I've found a few sites online that offer courses but they seem expensive or they are offering in-class instruction in Paris or further.  Is there opportunity to get a respectable certification here in Lille (or around Lille)?  Or, are there any online courses that someone could recommend that are respectable?

I'm here on a visitor's visa and I'll soon have a "carte de sejour vie privée" (thanks to my PACs) that will allow me to work.  I'm looking for something that actually QUALIFIES me to to teach.

Thank you and I look forward to hearing from you!

Hi,

I'm a qualified TEFL teacher and although I don't know the north of France very well I would recommend avoiding online TEFL courses.  Granted they may give you the certificate (although some aren't worth the paper they're written on) you would learn so much more finding a language school where you can do a 4 week course with qualified teachers.

I qualified at TEFL Toulouse, it's not cheap (1500 euro) but a massively satisfying experience with a great set-up and everyone on my course walked out feeling it was money well spent.  But damned hard work!

Good luck with whichever route you decide to take

Hey Josh