Moving to New york

Hi,

for a while now I've been trying to figure out what to do with my life, I have a wife, and a child on the way... currently I live in Dubai, but frankly don't see much future here and I'm wondering how life on the outside would be.

New York .. is my destination of preference and I'm looking into how I'd manage to get me and my wife and the baby out of Dubai, into New York City to start a new life.

I know I'm just like everyone else in this world, trying to achieve success, with little under my shoulders.

I have several years of experience in graphic design but frankly need to get out of the media industry. and I want to start something new. The problem is, all my life I have moved around, and I have not finished school really ... secondary without certificate, and no degree in whatever way. Not a good way to start off I know. But I believe in the possibility of achieving something without all that...

I'm not really after someone who'd "save my life" here or offer me a job... to be honest I'm just seeking advice from people who might have gone through the same and might be able to help me a bit.

I hope you guys can! I'm close to my limits.. and I'm hoping for a hand =)

Best for 2010 to all of you!

-Alex

Hi Alex,
New York is a great place to live, buzzing city and full of exciting people and cultures.
Not sure what career options you are looking at but there are a lot of filmmakers - actors / directors / producers / writers, if that takes your fancy.
Otherwise i would just have a look around the job/forum sites in New York like craigslist. One thing New York is great for is networking, only thing to worry about i would think is getting a working visa, with the economy right now a lot of US citizens are out of a job so it would be difficult for them to give good reason for hiring a non-US citizen.
Hope that helps.
Best wishes,
J

Hi Alex,