Life Style in Venice for Students

Hi all,

I got admission in Universita Cafoscari Venezia, Venice for the masters program in Computers.

I would like to know the life style, cost of living n jobs. Is there any chance to get part time job as a english speaking guy?

N wat about cost of living n life style in Venice? It would be very helpful if i get some information from u...Thanks in advance.......

Hey, I'm also a student at Ca' Foscari and I can give you a few tips!

#1 Housing: costs less in Mestre, or Marghera (you can find a single room anywhere from 250euro in Mestre). *remember that utilities (ie water, gas,etc.) is not usually included in the price*
Mestre is a little bit nicer than Marghera, plus you have the city center with shopping, supermarkets, pubs, etc.

#2 ACTV student bus pass: costs 22/month for ONLY bus and 24/month for vaporetto and bus

#3 nightlife = campo santa margherita (as well as other events- you can find flyers around the uni) There is always something to do, but it may not be as lively as other Italian cities.

#4 jobs: I'm not really sure about jobs, since I'm only studying at the moment. But I HIGHLY recommend learning Italian if you don't know some already (as in reaching level B1/B2). You can probably find something in a bar, shop, hotel but a lot of places will ask that you speak Italian as well.

#5 language: Italian is definitely important if you plan on living and integrating into the society. I've been living here for 2 years and have very few friends who speak English fluently. I have even learned Venetian (which is important to understand- at least) because many people speak and use Venetian interchangeably with Italian.
The CLA (centro linguistico ateneo) offers classes in Italian (as well as other languages) for a good price for Ca' Foscari students.

As for total monthly living costs: I spend about 500-600 euro/month

Hope this helps!

Hi,

That so helpful, I really appreciate it....