Studying in Bordeaux

Hi. I'm a student from the United States. Soon I'll be studying in Bordeaux. What's this city like, in your opinion? I've done research but I haven't talked to anybody who actually lives in Bordeaux. What can I expect? Any advice/guidance/tips would be appreciated. This is going to be my first time leaving the USA.

Hi,
I'm a french student in Bordeaux, I'm in this city since 3 years, and it's quite a nice one. There is a lot of students here, so you have all you need to study properly, ans going out as you want.

In which university will you go ? How long will you stay ?

If you have any questions, i'll be glad to answer them.

Thanks for replying!

I'm going to Bordeaux 3, and I'm staying for one year. Right now I have two questions. Are there many international students in Bordeaux? And is the city safe at night?

There is international students in Bordeaux, but I dont realy know how much, it depends of the speciality. I'm at Bordeaux 2 and I know there is something like a foreign club where you can meet other foreign students. Also, if you want to meet english people, there is several pubs where they use to go.

The city is very secure at night. I'm a girl and I'm not afraid to walk in the streets at night. There is lights and poelple  in the street, they are not little darks streets :). I talk about the town center of course, for the rest of the city it's depend of the neighborhood.

Will you stay in students appartement near to Bordeaux 3 or will you stay in the town center ?

Where is the best place for a student to live?