General Health conditions in Tanzania.

Hello Friends,

Its good to see so many people in this site, helping new comers to Tanzania to get settled in.

I am from Kolkata, India. I have got a job offer from one of the companies here. I am very much willing to relocate here.

I have read from the internet that general health conditions in Tanzania is not good.. ie. Malaria, Hepititis, Unsafe water etc are very much prevailing there. Can somebody please inform if these are correct, or what would be the safety measures to be adopted for being fit there???

I wonder if so many people from India are living in Tanzania, then how are they managing all these things???

Looking forward to hear from all of you.

Thanks

Randhir

Hi and welcome to Expat.com Randhir!

In what field are you going to be working?
Hope you will find the correct information on the forum ;)

Regards
Armand

Thanks for the msg..

I am a marketing professional, and will be working in the fields/market, different cities

Hi Randhir,

There are many people from India/Europe/America, all over TZ. My family is a family of 6, me and my husband and 4 small kids. I will try to give a quick answer.

We have lived in TZ for over 3 yrs. I tell people that if we haven't gotten seriously sick yet then anyone can come. Just take certain safety precautions.

Water:

We boil/filter our water.For bathing we just try not to drink the shower/bath water. :-) You laugh but try telling a 2 yr. old not drink or spit the bath water, what is the first thing he is going to do?

Diseases:

We are exposed to many Tanzanians through church fellowship. Our contact is through shaking hands, and sitting close to one another. I am sure that some of them probably have some sort of diseases, HIV, Hepatitis etc. but we feel safe in regards to health concerns.
I once caught my 3 yr. old cleaning the bottom of her shoe, by licking it. Yes very disgusting. Kids are kids, and can be pretty unpredictable at times.