Public holidays in Mauritius

Public holidays in Mauritius
Updated 2019-06-06 15:14

Public holidays in Mauritius are more often than not, religious holidays that reflect the diversity and the multi-religious composition of the island. In the spirit of fairness, the government has introduced public holidays according to the different origins and religions.

The Mauritian calendar displays 13 public holidays in the year, six of which are fixed dates:

New Year: 1st and 2nd of January

Independence Day: 12th of March

Labour Day: 1st of may

All Saints Day: Catholic Celebration on the 1st of November

Christmas: 25th of December

The other public holidays (seven) are linked to religious festivals and traditions, and their dates change every year according to the lunar calendar:

Thaipoosam Cavadee: The Tamil festival, usually around mid-January or beginning of February.

Maha Shivaratree: A Hindu festival celebrated around February or March.

Spring Festival: The Chinese New Year is usually celebrated in January or February

Ougadi: The Telegu New Year, celebrated in March.

Eid-Ul-Fitr: A Muslim celebration, at the end of the fasting month of Ramadan.

Ganesh Chaturthi: A Hindu celebration between August and September.

Divali ou Deepavali: The Festival of Light is a Hindu festival, celebrated around October or November, which symbolises the triumph of good over evil.

There are also a few other popular religious holidays in Mauritius, although those are not allocated a day off for the whole population. There is for instance, the celebration of Père Laval held on the 9th of September, Holi (a Hindu Festival of Colours) celebrated in March, and the Ganga Asnan (Festival of the Ganges) in November.

We do our best to provide accurate and up to date information. However, if you have noticed any inaccuracies in this article, please let us know in the comments section below.