Teaching in Mauritius

Bonjour!
I am planning on moving to Mauritius in December/January with my husband and children. My husband is Mauritian. I am a teacher from Australia and I am wondering what the process is of trying to gain employment? I have contacted some international schools, 2 of which have asked for my CV. Are there forms I need to submit? Other things I need to do in preparation?

Many thanks friends,

Rachelle

Hello Rachelle,

Welcome onboard ^^

For what age group are you looking forward to teaching ?

For secondary, what they might ask is a PGCE (Postgraduate Certificate in Education) or any equivalent certification, reference for language level and your degree ofcourse. Teaching experience as well. At times, they do ask for some level of french language knowledge but it is not compulsory.

If they ask for your degree equivalence or recognition (just in case), you can do it here : http://www.tec.mu/recognition_equivalence

All the best,
Anoushka

Hello!
I am primary trained. My family is French/Seychellois so I do know French. I have lost it over the years not speaking enough of it but I am relearning it for myself now.
Any advice about schools for my own children? The schools seem very expensive!
Rachelle

In that case perhaps, your qualifications and experience should be enough. Some schools ask for referees and certificate of morality (conviction form).

Consider a school not far from your residence. Where will you be residing here ? International schools are expensive, however, you also have options, there are several very good english medium schools (french language forms part of the curriculum, so they will get to learn french as well). How old are your children ?

We don't know exactly yet where we will be living. We're looking around Flic en Flac.

Sorry my children are 11 & 14