Internship pay

hi Julien, you have been a great help to all of us. i'v read all your articles.seems though that no one talks about internship. i'm a university graduate with a bachelors degree. i just got an internship job offer in Mauritius as a Personal Assistant to a manager in a company. the pay is undisclosed but cost of accommodation is $75- shared or $150-single. i dont know which part of Mauritius exactly at the moment. what i would lyk to know is whether i will be paid the minimum expat wage of 30000MUR or not and if so would it be a fair deal???
and oh, another thing, can i get a second job??? i wanna save towards my masters. thank you.i need to get back to them with an answer within the week so pls reply ASAP!

Hi sunnyvee and welcome on Expat.com,

how long would last your intership?

Hi Julien, Any chances that you will organise a meet up "afterwork" in P Louis soon ?

Take care
Mel

If your internship lasts more than 2*3 months, you'll need an occupation permit -> minimum pay 30,000 rs per month.

You should have a look to the visa Mauritius section in the Mauritius guide.

Mel> yes we should organize an after-work drink, but as my car is broken it's a little bit complicated for me at the moment :/

Hi Sunnyvee

Local companies usually offer internship to foreign students and/or graduates for periods of up to three months.

To be able to stay in Mauritius with such a VISA, the firm granting the internship needs to:
    Have a letter from the University making a request or confirming that you are/were a student of the University and requires such an internship.
    Sign an agreement with your University, where some general clauses are included.
    Submit to the Passport and Immigration Office and to the Ministry of Labour and Industrial Relations:
o    indicating that the internship will be on NO pay.
o    A copy of the agreement signed with your University, indicating therein that the internship will be on no PAY.