Better cities to live in.

What are some of the better cities to live in. Affordable housing or apartments, easy to get around town.

city living i like chitre better than most   david is so hot,  el valle is isolated and for strict retirement ,, boquete is so over rated damp and cold some times ,,

I am an 81-year-old Australian (female) that has been stuck in Costa Rica since March last year because the Australian government has kept the border closed even for returning Australians. I have to return via the US, but the fares for returning Australians have been US$15,000 plus (for Executive- or First-class seats - no Economy available because the number of returnees has been capped at 30 per flight). So, with my CR visa just expired again, I am going to do some tripping around in Panama, starting on Dec.13, and I just might decide to live there - if I can find a good place.  I agree with you that David (although a very authentic Panamanian city) is too hot. I studied Spanish for six weeks, in Boquete, six years ago, and I have recently been back there. I don't like it now: wall to wall souvenir shops, and places selling tours. For my December trip, would Chitre be a less-touristy place, and is it a good place for swimming? I've been to Santa Fe and it's a nice quiet place (in a lovely setting) but, like El Valle, it's too remote and there's not much there. For someone who is a good swimmer (not surfer), do you have any recommendations for nice places to spend time, during December? How about Pedasi? I haven't been there, but my understanding is that it's become a bit trendy, with expensive condos at the beach areas (with no beaches actually in Pedasi). I'd like to spend a few days, even a week, at nice quiet places where I can swim in the sea, or in a clean river. I can speak Spanish reasonably well, so I don't need to be where English is commonly spoken.