Krabi and Ao Nang

Hi all:

My name is Walt and I am a teacher from Alaska. I am 1 year from retirement and I have some questions about moving to either Krabi/Ao Nang. What can I expect to pay for a modest 2 bedroom home off of the beach area?

I have a Thai friend who is interested in opening a shop near the beach area and will need to find a shop space about 300-600 sq/ft. What should I expect to pay for star/shop rent?

Thanks for all your help..

Walt

There is a Facebook page Krabi/Ao Nang Real Estate where you can find lots of houses to rent in every price range.

For commercial property, Ao Nang is expensive on a relative basis to Krabi Town and other parts of Thailand. Anything near the beach is extremely expensive---and difficult to make a profit, though there should be a turnover of properties under the current situation. But rental prices for a one unit shop 1km from the beach  4m wide by 15m long will start at 30,000 baht a month and rise each 100 meters you move towards the beach

Thank you.. That rent for commercial property is a bit in the but for sure...I will look up the FB page for sure.. Thank you

Hi
Am looking for some place that is like Chiang Mai but has beach n clean air ..
The clean air requirement has narrowed my search to places south of Hua Hin such as Chumphon, Trang, Krabi, Phuket, Koh Samui or Surat Thani ..

Wonder if you guys could help me refine my search further 

Will be nice if can have a place with a big mall like Central Festival, n big supermarkets like Big C or Tesco Lotus, the beach is nice to go once in a while but i don't think i'll like to stay right on it, don't need to be near night spots either ..

people who stayed in Phuket were saying Krabi is nice, are they mostly referring to Ao Nang or Krabi Town in this respect ..

Thanks for the input

Hello