Driving for Uber in Munich

Looking to relocate from Los Angeles to Munich in 2020 with my small family. A few questions regarding Uber in Munich.

1. Has Uber cleared all legal hurdles to operate in Munich now. I have read old posts on other forums that they were fighting a ban circa 2015. 

2. I plan to purchase a car to transport family, and use for Uber, are prices for BMW's similar to US?

3. How strict is Uber in vetting drivers. I have a clean driving record in California.

4. Any drawbacks to working for Uber as a US citizen, what permit do I apply for initially, and then after working for Uber?

We are US citizens. I have a bachelors in Management and Masters in Information and Library Science (MLIS). The library related jobs I have seen are with US Gov't near Frankfurt, I would like to stay in South Germany, preferably Munich. My family and I have visited twice in Summer months, and plan to visit again this Winter to experience cold/grey wintry conditions firsthand. Wife is from NYC, and I lived there for 8 years dealing with snow/ice. My parents speak German having migrated there 40 years ago and have since moved to the US, I know a little bit of German, maybe A1 level at best. Plan to work airport routes with Uber only.

Thank you.

Germany has strict regulations for taxi operators - and Uber falls under these.
That makes it very difficult to use the USA business model and therefore Uber operates only very few big German cities so far (and is still small even there). Luckily for you, Munich is among them.
First of all, taxi drivers need a special driving license and permit. To get this requires a few months of lessons and trainings at a cost of several thousand Euros (on top of a valid German, not USA, driving license). You also need to be able to converse with the passengers in German.