Is it worth signing a new contract with reduced salary?

Hi. Have lived in KSA as a British expat for a good few years and got a bit comfortable here.

The thing is, as an EFL teacher, my contract more or less stayed the same every year but had to sign a new one for each academic year. The problem is, for this new contract the company have decided to slash the salaries of their employees because of a recession. Is this true? Have to say that I'm quite naive so just believed what I heard but wasn't sure about signing. What I'd like to know is whether it's worth signing the new contract?

What's on the table is 12000SAR per month for me and the rest of my colleagues. Not sure if I should sign the new contract or wait it out? Have checked online but can't see a better alternative.

Will the salaries go down and will the cost of living increase if there is a recession? Not sure if I should believe what I hear and sign the new contract  :shy

Hello dear,

I am an Architect and have been working here in KSA for 6 years, in the construction field there is a big recess yes, and there is more engineers in the market than the market require which led to salary decrease in the market, however only few companies reduced salaries while other company just reduced the staff.

As for the education field I am not sure if there is a recess or no, and it is completely a personal decision for you to decide if your new salary will be worth it for you or no. just sit down with a piece of paper and a pen, summarize your payments and see if you will be able to stay with this new salary or no

Best Regards
Mallouk

Hi

Salaries are definitely not as lucrative as they once were and costs have and will increase.
The 64M$ question is if you don't sign will they be able to replace you for the same salary they are offering you.