Marrying in the Dominican Republic

Hello, all!

I have been living in the Dominican Republic for 3 years now. I work as a high school teacher. I started a relationship with a Dominican girl  (who is also a teacher at my school) for about a year. We want to marry but have many doubts. We do not want to go to the USA to live. We wish to continue living in the Dominican Republic, but we do want to go to the US for vacation. She was already denied a tourist visa when she went about one year ago. Could our marriage help her get a visa? We do not want to go back to the States but have heard that the only way for me to be able to help her is marrying and moving to the States.

Any comments would be helpful.

Thank you!

Welcome to the forums.  Marriage is a big big step. To me there is only one reason to marry someone!!!

It may or may not help get her a visa to the USA.  That isn't a reason to get married.

It seems as though you did not understand. We want to get married because we certainly love each other. However, we also want to travel to the US and return to DR. The problem is that it seems that I cannot help her get a visa without going through the US residence process which is what we DO NOT want.

Okay got ya.  Now I understand.

Seems to me if you make a home here and show BOTH of you will be returning here then that would assist her!  I will ask a friend who is an immigration attorney in the USA.

thank you so much!

I will be having a conversation with him this evening.  He says: I will call you this evening about question. You would think it is an easy question however it is not due to US Embassy rules of operation and procedures.

I am sure that this is a difficult question. I have researched and researched but have not been able to find an accurate response.

OK. I have some answers.  First marry because you want to.

After, apply for her green card. You can do it all from here you do not need to live in the USA to do this.