Buying land in a foreign country.

Hi,
So you get to a foreign country and the first thing you want to look for is a house which you can make a home. What is your take on purchasing land and building a home versus buying an apartment or already built house?

As a lawyer I can advise you to be very careful in any transaction you're carrying especially in regards to land.  Do proper search through a reputable lawyer before deciding whether to build or buy. The other question is how long do you want to stay in that country. There is no need of buying a property you're going to use for two years. You can take a property for a lease period. It is a bit cost effective. Kindly reach me for help.

Having bought (and sold) land and property in Kenya, I would echo what is written above.  Never ever allow someone else to act on your behalf.  Be present and personally view the land or property.

With land, its not unknown for titles to be false and a piece of land to be 'sold' by someone purporting the be the owner, but who isn't.  At the very least you will lose your deposit - you will not get your money back.  Thorough checks/searches cannot be recommended strongly enough (as stated above).

Land and property is an excellent investment, so even if you are in Kenya for 2 years and you have the cash, it is certainly worth considering a purchase.

I would tend to go for an already built house or apartment, then remodel/update it.  Build costs in Kenya are high and inevitably you will need to add considerably to your original budget estimate - particularly for finishing.  Good and reliable fundi's are hard to find and as your project nears completion, they may 'buy time' by working more slowly until they get another contract, when you won't see them at all for most of the week. 

Being on site to project manage is very important.

If you are simply re-modelling/updating a house, you can at least live in part of it while the rest is being worked on!!