New Tourist overstay penalty from 8 Reais to 120 Reais ?!?!

Hello, i am here on a 3 month tourist visa and was told in the beginning i can just overstay and pay a fine of 8 reais a day and maximum 780 reais. Now i heard from a lawyer in Rio that this was changed and its now 120 Reais a day, Can anyone conform this? I am in Trancoso near Porti Seguro, what other options do i have if i want to stay about 2-3 more months....

1) Go to Policia Federal and check in there?
2) Apply for studnet visa? I am studying portuguese... how and where i can do this?

Thanks for the input!

Obrigado!

Hello,
i found out the same today. They told me at Policia Federal that it's minimum 100 reals per day and can be anything more than this as well. I dont know who decides this and based on what criteria?
Im leaving tmrw and they charged me 100 p each day i overstayed.

Ive just been to Policia Federal in Salvador airport and they say that the law changed from 8 to 100 reals per day but you dont have to pay the fine - not at departing and not at re-entering Brasil.
It doesnt make sense but they say its true.

Here is the actual law: http://www.planalto.gov.br/ccivil_03/_a … L13445.htm

R$100/day min, max - R$10,000 per overstay

CAPÍTULO IX -

"§ 2o  A multa atribuída por dia de atraso ou por excesso de permanência poderá ser convertida em redução equivalente do período de autorização de estada para o visto de visita, em caso de nova entrada no País.

Art. 108.  O valor das multas tratadas neste Capítulo considerará:

IV - o valor mínimo individualizável de R$ 100,00 (cem reais);

V - o valor mínimo de R$ 100,00 (cem reais) e o máximo de R$ 10.000,00 (dez mil reais) para infrações cometidas por pessoa física;

VI - o valor mínimo de R$ 1.000,00 (mil reais) e o máximo de R$ 1.000.000,00 (um milhão de reais) para infrações cometidas por pessoa jurídica, por ato infracional."

the two sections in bold address both things you heard. fine increased, don't necessarily have to pay it.