I would like to learn about life in Colombia

Hi, I am considering some real estate investments in Colombia in Medellin, Cali, Santa Marta and Cartagena and am interested in learning about the culture and the people. I have a friend in Santa Marta but would like to meet others online before visiting.  If you would like to share your experiences in any of these cities I would love to chat. If you are from Colombia and would like to practice English I need to practice my Spanish. Any subject you want to talk about I am interested. I am a professional pilot so am fairly well traveled and have a love for living life to the fullest.

Many of my wife's numerous family live in Cali, as well as in other parts of the country.  Santiago de Cali is a wonderful city.  And it's hot - most expats do not consider it a prime destination, and tourists may like it but most would not consider it as a place to live for any length of time.  But I like it.  It's the third-largest city in Colombia and the people are open and welcoming.  Although there's a lot of crime it is mostly drug and gang involved and/or crimes of opportunity against the weak and unwary.

As a foreigner who will most likely never become a resident mostly due to the tax structure as it exists now, the last thing I would consider is any real estate investment in Cali or anywhere in Colombia.  If you are looking more for a residence than an investment, of course emotion can overrule almost any objections if you find your "dream" home.