Do you speak Russian?

Hi everyone,

It is widely agreed that speaking Russian is essential for a successful integration in Russia. Do you agree? Share your experience!

Do you speak Russian? If so, where did you learn this language? Where can one attend a language course in Russia?

If not, how do you cope with daily activities? Is it easy to communicate in a different language with Russians?

Thank you for sharing your experience.

Priscilla

Hello Priscila!

Speaking Russia is a key point to live and interact with Russians and so living in Russia without speaking Russian is waste of time.
Most Russians are friendly and want to interact with foreigners, especially foreigners who speak English, Spanish and French. So if you are a foreigner and wants to come to Russia, you have to speak basic Russian.

I studied in Russia for 6 years as medical student, and now I'm doing my speciality in general surgery.
When I first came to Russia, I didn't even know what they called Russian Language.
But for the first 5 months I studied Russian, I was able to communicate with native Russians.
The teachers are well trained professionals.

So my  advise to everyone who wants to come and study, do business, stay in Russia, you must prepare to learn the language  either on the street or in the language institutions.

Hi Priscilla,

I'm a native English speaker that's currently learning Russian online. It's highly effective, and you can check out this link to see the awesome level of instruction that makes it so much easier to retain your Russian knowledge.

The link is:

http://www.russian-accelerator.com/cmd.php?af=1669969

Добрый вечер, Присцилла!

I moved to Moscow on 31 December and had been studying Russian for 3 months online with a native Russian speaker. Of course, I know all of my symbols and sounds, can read Russian (sometimes slowly),  my pronunciation isn't the best, and know about 120 Russian words.