Real Estate Offer Price/Sale Price

Hello all,

I have plenty of real estate experience in Ontario Canada purchasing property. Right now it is definitely a sellers market here. Most properties are going for very close to asking, or above depending on the local….not much chance of any low ball offers getting through.
We are considering buying a home in Belize.
I'm wondering what the market condition is like in Belize? Especially the Corozal area.
Our Canadian dollar is no help right now; so I am wondering if there is any chance of any deals to soften the lose on our dollar.
Also wondering how low offers are received in Belize? Here going too low you risk having your offer thrown out.
Thanks for any info.
Todd

There is very little real estate infrastructure down there like there is in North America you will be able to find deals but anything you see online is going to be top price you need to be down there you need to be walking around you need to be talking you need to be visiting in order to find the deal

Yeah. Don't pay anything close to anything you see online. It is like high ball x 1000. They're just waiting for a sucker. Like katzgar said, you gotta be here and look and talk and make connections.

…was able to find online a bit of an answer to my questions… "property values have increased 30-40% over the last few years"  …the sources made it sound like this was purely observational,and not based in any solid recorded numbers.
I appreciate the answer mentioning that prices asked online are fishing for suckers. I had somewhat assumed that. We will have our feet on the ground, for the first time in Belize, January 2017.We did find a property online that we might fall totally in love with, once we see it in person.
I was just trying to gauge what the spread is between asking price in Belize and the actual selling price.
I'm guessing it varies hugely as compared to here in Ontario.