International Living magazine subscription?

Would it be in my best interest to subscribe to International Living magazine if I am just beginning my research for retiring to Costa Rica or Ecuador??

I am not among those who simply write off the publication as “International Lying.”

However, IL readers should be cognizant that the company's primary businesses are attracting advertising dollars, selling seminar tickets and otherwise profiting from the needs of Expats and prospective Expats.

If International Living is promoting an upcoming seminar about moving to Belize, will the magazine publish information about coastal disease issues there .. or exposure to earthquakes there .. or the fact that the English spoken there is a tortured form of the language ?

Probably not.

On the other hand, would Expats be aware of Buga, Colombia -- BOO-gah -- as an up-and-coming Expat destination without IL's reporting ?

Again, probably not.

Balance the fluff against the new information you can get .. realize that IL is  usually a starting point, not your main resource .. and choose whether the price of a subscription might be worth it to you.

cccmedia

AnneinTexas wrote:

Would it be in my best interest to subscribe to International Living magazine if I am just beginning my research for retiring to Costa Rica or Ecuador??

I would neither recommend nor reject reading it, but mags are printed to make money so you can't always trust what you read.

I would strongly recommend reading posts on forums such as this and taking the time to absorb blogs written by people who live in your country of interest, that and local news sites.

You'll notice I didn't name any country, that being because the advice stands for any country you might consider.

Thank you so much for the sage advice.

Thank you cccmedia.  I see that you are a prolific writer.