Power outages and internet

Hi all. I am a medical coder and am searching for a remote job that will allow me to work from home ANYWHERE, such as down there in Puerto Rico! I am wondering about the RELIABILITY OF ELECTRICITY AND INTERNET. How frequently does the power go out? If it goes out, will internet still work? I am currently researching options for backup power including generators (but I know a computer can't just run off of one..it'll fry it with power spikes), batteries, UPS (uninterruptible  power supply), etc. Any advice on backup power is welcome, but more importantly will internet through cable lines still be working during outages? Or do I need to look into completely wireless options? Even then, how reliable is it? Will a storm interfere with the signal?

It really depends... we are in SJ and almost never lose power or internet - good thing because I work from home and my kids need access for school work. But I have friends that live 2 blocks away and they are constantly losing power.  You'll definitely want a backup plan for whatever your first choice is. The few times we've lost internet and needed access I've used my iPhone as a wireless hub and accessed that way.

Be aware, during storms (hurricanes) you may be out of power and internet for extended time. even if you have wireless internet. During the last major storm power and internet was out for over a week in some places. You may have power in your area but the cell towers that feed internet signals may be out. Last time this happened, my sister was out of power for a week and the internet was out for almost a month until Claro was able to repair infrastructure.