Considering a move to Salzburg

Following a visit to Salzburg this past weekend with my wife to visit friends whom she has known for many years, we have opened discussions about a possible move there from the UK.

I am english and my wife turkish and she studied there for 5 years up until around 2013. She now lives with me in the UK with flr residency.

We drove from London and spent only a couple of days in the city but I loved it and loved the people we met. She already has a long standing love for austria and Salzburg and has a family there whom she is very close with.

My question is this, how easy or difficult would it be for myself to find work and sustain us in Salzburg, I am a painter and decorator by trade with 12+ years experience but speak little German (of course I would learn as much as possible and remember bits from my school years). Her German is much better but can be a little rusty.

I know that as a UK citizen I am freely permitted to live and work in austria and as my wife know that she would be able to obtain residency also, the main issue is work and ensuring a stable position before any move could be made.

What is the average salary for a painter and decorator and how saught after are skilled decorators?

Failing that are there any other possible avenues we/I could explore.

Hope to hear from some of you and look forward to getting some knowledge on this subject.
Thanks
Dale

Hi Dale,

You could always set up your own business for the English speaking community of Salzburg. I do know there are a few native English speakers out your way. I don't know the going rate. I have a Kiwi friend he is a builder and he is always busy in Vienna and lower Austria.

I moved over from the UK 6 years ago and I love it in Austria. I am 30km south of Vienna though.

If you need any more help, feel free to drop me a line.

Simon

Hey Simon thanks so much for reply.