Considering moving to PR, central mountain area

Hello, my name is Paet (Pat), my husband and I are considering moving to Puerto Rico in about 20 months, when he retires.  I am interested in hearing from anyone regarding this area.  We currently live in Cleveland Ohio but I did work on the tall ships in the West Indies in the early '70's so I know a little about island life.

I am a textile artist with interests in history, languages, music and nature. 

We really want to get away from the cold winters up here and the gigantic utility bills.  We both would welcome a simpler life! 

Questions about hurricanes, earth quakes and etc.  I realize that we willneed either a cement home or one of concrete block - any other things to look for???

I current am relearning my latin american spanish via Rosetta stone and am volunteering with a local Puerto Rican program.

I look forward to hearing from anyone who responds.

Paet............

So what are your questions? :D

I'd recommend to read as much about PR as you can, here and on blogs etc.

Then, since this place is really different from anything you know from the USA, I'd spend a couple of weeks here before you decide to move to PR.

Thanks Gary.  The main question is re. hurricanes.  I had figured that if you are in the mountains they might not hit as badly - or cause as much damage as if you are living on the coast. Right or wrong on this?

I have been reading about PR a good bit, sadly there is little to be found in the book stores.  So, this is my first chance to talk to people who are now living in PR.  I look forward to learning as myuch as possible through this site and possibly even making a few friends, in time.

A friend who has family in PR suggested Orocovis as a place to look into, he and his family were there last month.    Do you know anything about the area?

Of course we would check out the island and way of living before we make a final decision.