Ready or not, here I come!

Hi all,

I am moving to Kuwait at the end of March. I hope to meet some people on here and get some valuable information before I make my move.

I have a few questions:

1. What areas would you suggest I look for apartments in? I want to live in an area with Westerners. I need to be near some of my peeps so meeting people will be easier.

2. How much does a furnished apartment cost approximately? 1 or 2 bedrooms?

3. Would you suggest I take taxis for awhile or get a car? I am terrified to drive there. I have read horror stories.

4. I am bringing my BB. Can it be unlocked once I get there? What cell plans are best?

5. I need to pay bills back home - any suggestions on banks so I can transfer some money?

6. Anything I should bring from North America that they don't have there? I don't want to end up bringing everything I own.

7. What's the dress code? I am a professional woman and so would skirt suits be suitable for work? Short sleeves? What about skinny jeans (not for work, obviously)

Thank you in advance. I know I'll have more questions. This is a sudden move so I am not as prepared as I can be. :)

Hi msjaydee and welcome to Expat.com!

Have you taken a look at the different threads of the forum? It may help.;)

Do not hesitate to browse through the articles in our participative guide.
Here's the link > https://www.expat.com/en/guide/middle-east/kuwait/.

Harmonie.

Dear dee

1.Please mention which place you are going to work , so we friends can suggest you the suitable placwe to live in ,and about westerners , there are good places like salwa,salmiya,so please mention about your work place in Kuwait.

2.Appartments : Its upto your budget , it starts from 200 kd to more for single or double in salmiya or other area, so i suggest you try to find a house near your work place ,better for you .