Living in Berlin, working for Dutch Company

Hi!

I am based in Berlin and work remotely from home for a company from Netherland. The contract is signed with Dutch entity (we do not have an entity in Germany). Which labor law apply here? :)

Thanks for your help

Hi Necia,

In the case you describe seems you have a contract from a german company so in this case German labor law is applied.

Hi and welcome to the Forum.

My opinion (I'm not an expert in German things) is if you are living and working in Berlin, your contact will fall under German Law; who and where your employer is would be irrelevant.

I'm going to ask if this thread can be moved to our German Forum where somebody there may know more than my opinion.

I hope this helps.

Cynic

Expat Team

I am also a legal layman, but with some basic understanding of the situation in Germany. But please cross-check everything I say with an expert!

In Germany, we have freedom of contract, meaning the contractual parties are free to agree on any regulation they like. It is thus o.k. to choose, in an employment contract, any foreign labour law - and this is also valid. (If your contract does not specify the chosen nationallaw, it needs to be interpreted by an expert as to what was most likely the intended law.)

However, at the same time you (but not the foreign employer!) also have to fulfill German law, which might contradict your employment contract - and in those cases has higher priority.

For example, you have to abide by German legal rules (including occupational safety, work hours, etc.). But unlike a local one, the foreign employer will not check this and discourage you from breaking the law - the full responsibility is yours!