About Armenia

Armenia lies in the Caucasus region and is bordered by Turkey, Georgia, Iran, and Azerbaijan. It is the only remaining country in the world featured on the 3,000-year old maps of Anatolia, and boasts an extraordinary collection of medieval architecture.

Armenia covers the territory of 29,743 square kilometres and has a population of almost three million people. The majority of its people are Armenians, but other ethnic groups include Yazidis and Russians. The country's official language is Armenian, though Russian, Assyrian, Greek, and Kurdish are also in use. Armenia's capital and largest city is Yerevan, followed by Gyumri, and Vanadzor. The city of Jermuk is famous for its mineral waters, and Tsaghkadzor is the country's number one skiing destination.

After the breakup of the Soviet Union, Armenia has moved away from large-scale industrial complexes. The country's economy depends significantly on the economy of Russia and has suffered a related slowdown. Armenia's development is based primarily on small-scale agriculture, and the country has open trade borders with Iran and Georgia.

Armenia offers wonderful grounds for hiking and exploring nature while Yerevan is a bustling city ' a mix of old traditions, modern development, Soviet-style architecture, and European wine bars. Armenia's most popular attractions are the majestic Lake Sevan, the mountain monastery of Geghard, the Temple of Garni, and the 7th-century fortress of Amberd.

Residents of most countries (including all EU countries) have the option of travelling to Armenia visa-free and staying for up to 180 days (depending on your country of origin). If you do require a visa to travel to the region, you can apply for one at the nearest Armenian Embassy or Consulate.

Though tourism is growing in the region, the country's infrastructure is still in the stage of early development, so you may not have a wide choice of amenities when exploring the country past its major urban centres.