Have a job Offer

Hi.I am an Engineer from India. I have an job offer in Muscat for 1100 RO per month. I will be coming there with my wife. Planning to rent 1BHK. I have 5years of in relevant experience. can anybody suggest about cost of living? Savings with this salary? Possibility of getting job for my wife who is an architect with 3yrs exp.

just keep in touch with this blog. you may get an answer to your question. congratulations on your job offer

Hi and welcome to the forum shetty2k3!

I hope other members will be able to help you soon.

Regards
Armand

Hello Shetty !

Let me give you the same answer which I gave Sandy too sometime back on this same site.

Anything above 1,500 rials in hand would be a decent salary for an average Indian expatriate.

How much of this one can save is entirely up to the person.  It will also depend on where you live, the type of your residence you prefer, the car you choose to drive, the school you want your kids to go to etc. In essence, you could save 1,000 rials a month, or end up borrowing 1,000 rials at the end of the month, depending entirely on your lifestyle !

The good news for you is that house rents are falling and falling rapidly, particularly in places like Muscat and Sohar which has a large concentration of Indian expatriates. The bad news is that many expatriates are heading back home as things have become difficult for them, because of the newly rejuvenated 'Omanisation'. Reason also why so many houses are available as compared to a few years back when house rents were going through the roof.

Getting a job for your wife may not be very easy given the present circumstances. However, I do not wish to discourage you even before you land here. You come and give it a try yourself.

You have not mentioned who will be paying your house rent - yourself, or your company. The average going rate of a good 1 bedroom apartment in a mostly Indian neighbourhood would be in the region of 275 - 350 rials.