Job Offer in UAE - Is AED 35,000 a good salary?

My current salary in the US is $128K ($10,650 per month). I've been offered a position in Abu Dhabi with a basic salary of AED 21,000 and allowances of AED 14,000. Is this a good salary or a comparable salary to my US salary since my US salary is taxed whereas the AED 35,000 is tax free. My family consists of four (wife, 4-yr old daughter, newborn, and myself). I'm a civil engineer with 10+ yrs of experience, including several professional licenses, and an MBA. So is AED 35,000 a good monthly salary and will it allow me to live a good lifestyle in UAE? Child schooling is paid at 50% up to a max of AED 26,000. Also, each family member receives AED 550 per month for flight allowance.

35K AED is a decent salary, but I'm little surprised why are you serious about this offer as you already have a good paying job @ your home country. 10650 USD is around 40K AED. Even if you consider the 30% tax away in US but the benfits of living at your home country (your own house, friends, set job) are worth to be considered.

I was almost in same setuation 2 years back when I decided to move from Singapore, a little more savings, a luxury car but poor life quality compare to SG, overall I regret my move :(

Take your decision wisely.

I appreciate your feedback. The only reason I was considering the offer is because the specific role I have in the construction field is quite specialized. And taking a position in the UAE would allow me to fast track my career so that in 4 to 5 years if I choose to come back to the states I would be at a Director level. So, if i choose to accept the offer do you recommend I counter with an offer of 40k AED at minimum?  Thanks

yes you deserve it. simple rule is don't ever allow your salary to go down unless you are job less..