Expats bearing the burden of higher costs in Kuwait

Me again :)

the next piece of news is very important for those currently in Kuwait and those wishing to come to Kuwait, as it draws a general idea of the way expats are viewed.

Here are some figures for the proposed increases in driver's licence and vehicle registration fees:

The gist of the proposal is as follows, for Non-Kuwaiti's:

1) 500KD instead of 10KD: issuance fee

2) 50KD instead of 1KD: renewal fee (except for drivers by profession)

3) Car registration - 300KD instead of 10KD. Renewal of car registration 100KD instead of 10KD, and these fees increase incrementally by 100KD for every second, third car etc.

Vehicles have increased in Kuwait annually by 9%, the population increases by 2.5% and the infrastructure changes at a rate of 2.1% per annum.

The Ministry also stated that licenses issued to expats since the year 2000 is over 810,000. The valid licenses to date are 581,000. There are over 166,000 vehicles older than 10 years and still on the road, of which expats own 487,000.

Here's a link to read more about it.

and heres the link to the news agency website, its in arabic tho.

Is it fair that expats are being forced to bear the brunt of rising costs?

so much for 'it'll be cheaper to drive in kuwait' oh well that sucks!!

and also, dont forget the most important rule of economics - the trickle down theory. meaning:

in the face of these rising costs, taxi's etc. will also raise their fees, to help cover the rising costs.

its a vicious circle.

altho i agree that renewing the license should cost more than 1KD, 50 is excessive, make it 10, not 50 times as much at once!

500KD instead of 10KD for issue?? Is that for a license?? Looks like I will be spending a lot of time at home, reading!