Lonely in Perth

Hi All,

This is my first post here! I have moved to Perth from Ireland with my husband-got here ten days ago! I am so incredibly lonely since arriving. Finding it very hard to adjust. Taught as a primary school teacher at home for eight years. I took a career break from my job to come here with my husband, an engineer, as work situation in Ireland is so bad. Thankfully, he got work almost immediately but I am struggling to get relief teaching or any kind of postion teaching.

We left our beautiful home, all our friends and family to come out here and I just feel so unhappy and unsettled. Would Love to hear from other Irish here in Perth to hear how you settled into new life in Perth.

Hi Royalcountyofmeath!

Welcome to Expat.com ;)

Armand

Thanks Armand!

Hi, thank you for the info. I am also a teacher with 8 years of experience. I have always had the impression that it should be easy to find a teaching job as it seems to be categorised under the skilled employment segment. Thanks for giving the info that the grass is not greener on the other side... ...sad, I love Perth Did you signed on with WACOT? How many schools have you tried?

Hi Choosehope,

I have registered with WACOT. When you arrive in Perth or Western Australia you then need to register with the department of education for an Education number. You also need to pply for a working with children permit so theres a huge amount of paper work! After that I sent emails and letters containing my CV and cover letter to all schools (public, Private and Catholic) in my area that I was interested in working in. That totalled about 40 schools and since i've arrived, two weeks now, I've only had 2 days relief teaching. First experience wasn't good but second was much nicer. You are pretty much thrown into the deep end and left to it. Scary!