Getting mortgage in Belgium

I've been wanting to buy a property in Belgium for a while but have been turned down by 2 banks (ING and Belfius) because I'm a resident in UK. Been banking with ING for over 30 years... Any pointers toward mortgage lenders who are willing to lend to expats that are not residents in Belgium would be most welcome.

The big banks are quite regimented/computerised. They understandably feel that they only want to lend money to people  who will repay without problem, and if there is a problem that can be followed up easily.
You might get more help from a smaller bank who perhaps have the old idea that they should know and trust the client. You might also approach an insurance broker; they often do mortgage business.
and might have more leverage than you alone.

You could  also review why  you are resident in UK and buying here. If this is for tax etc reasons and you are coming back and forth regularly, remember you only have to be here for 183 days to be tax resident here. Buying a house could possibly have the effect of raising the authorities interest in your residence status. Passports were not usually stamped on entry even before UK was EC, but if they ask you to justify non residence you had better have your tickets, and or receipts.

Just need a clarification: UK resident means you live in UK but want to buy a house in Belgium as a property? or Are you a UK resident though you work and live in Belgium?

My personal experience as follows:

1.ING:  I approached ING being a customer for 5 years. After a long wait for an appointment, its representative emailed me on the appointment date saying - we lend only to 5-year long-term residents. Not happy to be an ING customer anymore. They didn't even give info about the typical interest rate after receiving my 5-year resident card B/D.

2. AXA: Willing to give a home loan to expats (card A holders). Being a small bank, their interest rate was high  0.3% compared to BNP.