Moving to Italy on my own...

Hi there, this is my first time posting here, but I've been looking for a forum of folks who are familiar with life in Italy. I got offered a job with the US government near Anzio, Italy, and I'm supposed to go in late October. In fact, the job was supposed to begin in April, but world events put a hold on everything. I've been struggling with the decision to go. I'm from a rural part of Florida and have recently moved back here after several years on-and-off in Alaska. I don't what to expect in Italy, especially with the covid situation and all of the changes which have occurred since I initially accepted the job. My number one question here has to do with the travel situation. I have a brother with cancer, a father with health issues and a grandfather who is likely to pass soon. In normal circumstances, I expected to be able to travel home as needed and I was hoping family could visit me, but moving abroad now feels like severing my ties in ways I never anticipated. The agency I'm to work for has assured me that there are options for travel or that there will soon be, but I am wondering what it's like for those of you in Italy who have been cut off from family members, friends and partners. It didn't feel as though I was really leaving everything behind back in April, but now it kind of does. I don't know a soul over there and I think making friends will be really tough in the current environment. My family had plans to visit me in Italy but that may now be impossible. Also, I'm wondering with what ease internal travel is possible? Is public transportation still happening as before? Are businesses open? Is life sort of back to normal? It's hard to tell from the media what is really going on, and here in the States things are dramatically different one jurisdiction to another. My friends in New Mexico are still in a near-solid lockdown situation whereas here in North Florida, life has somewhat resumed. Am I going to a place with major