Dual Citizenship Freelancer Where to File?

Hello,

I have an income tax question that I am hoping to get some help on.
I have the German and the American citizenship and I'm not sure where exactly I have to pay my income tax. If it's in Germany where I live or in USA. I haven't done my taxes these past years and really want to do that now, so that I can sleep better at night.
For work, I am a freelancer. I work through various sites for US and European (never German) companies and get paid in US Dollars. Is the finance authority in Germany the correct contact for me? Do I have to balance my tax debt here or in USA?
If anyone can help me or give a few tips, I'd appreciate it.

In almost all cases (and this includes Germany) you have to pay income tax where you live and work (regardless of your nationality or where and how the income is paid).
Thus the German Finanzamt nearest to you is in charge.
You will be fined for not submitting tax returns the past few years (which would have been your duty). I recommend you engage a tax consultant to do this correctly and with minimal pain.

Since the USA are an international anomaly by taxing their citizens no matter where they live, work or get paid, you probably have to file (and possibly pay) in the USA as well. There is a dedicated thread on this forum fpor that.

I've written extensively on this subject on this site. You have to file tax returns to BOTH countries. The US is one of 2 countries in the world that do this. German forms have to be done first and you pay any tax owed - and all of your worldwide income is included. The American forms don't have to be filed until June 15th, as an overseas filer you get an automatic 2-month filing extension over the normal April 15th deadline.