Cost of living for International Students at Kuala Lampur

Hi
I have got the admission in University of Malaya, Kuala Lampur and will be in Malaysia in august. I need to ask what is the average expense for the student by on campus accommodation and off campus accommodation. Also I have got the admission in Industrial Electronics and Controls, please tell me what are the job prospects of this program after i get post graduation degree from Malaysia.
Are students allowed to get the work permit there during the graduation period as a part time to pay the fees and monthly expenses.
Please reply soon

Thanks

Sufyan

Hi and welcome to the forum Sufyan!

I hope other members will give you some good advices soon ;)

Regards
Armand

The extent of expenses here in KL depends on an individual. Generally, things are cheap and affordable here

I don't agree with Okwudili , although expenses depends on an individual ,cost of living is not cheap here anymore. i got my master degree here, i came to Malaysia 3 years ago that time 1$ was 3.7 ringgit but today is 2.9 ! see, if you are not self sponsored you are in a big trouble.. in addition Malaysia's inflation rate has been forecast to climb to 3.2 percent this year BUT salaries remain unchanged for example you earned 3000rm couple years ago and paid 1.70(per liter) for petrol now you pay 1.90 with same salary !
anyway I've no idea about job ,but about your student life i can say 600-800$ per month is enough for living in kl !

Hi well 8 year ago 2000 rm a month was just enough but bread line living - assuming three sharing a 1,000 rm flat. Based that on my ex a student. Now with inflation I would say 3,000 rm a month in KL. Average salaries in KL are 7,000 rm and often two wage earners live together.  I'm assuming some local travel and fun while studying. Any less may be possible but best to budget a sensible amount! That's a 1,000 USD a month at current rate